Drabble Dump #6 – Misc.

Drabbles once again written to various prompts by both Megstiel and Vera!

“I DARE YOU” // Uriel+Michael
{Megstiel}

“I dare you to take on a wasp demon by yourself,” Uriel said.

Michael gave her a rather bland look. “Hardly a challenge, Uriel. We have both done this before with little trouble.”

“Yeah, but not separately,” Uriel said with a faint smirk. “If you lose, you have to show the Blacks your other form.”

His eyebrows climbed toward his hairline, and he leaned forward until their noses were almost touching, his eyes glittering. “And what if I win?”

Uriel had to think for a moment; it had to be something worth the risk for him, but at little cost to herself, without him noticing. “I’ll do the same.”

He looked pleased. But, Uriel thought, he hadn’t seen the nest of wasp demons yet.

FEATHER // Cynder
{Vera}

A single white feather falling to the ground should have been nothing.  He should have just gone and took no notice of it at all.  But he did notice it and then he couldn’t take his eyes off of it.  At first he told himself that it must have been from some bird, but bird feathers weren’t so white that they seemed to glow with divine light.

He was going to walk away then.  He was going to turn his back on it and ignore it, but somehow he couldn’t.  He bent down and carefully plucked the feather up and held it between his fingertips.  It seemed to emit a little bit of warmth.  A shiver went up his spine as he came to the realization that this was in fact an angel’s feather.

One of his own feathers, even.  But that couldn’t be.  His wings were as black as the darkest night.  A precious white feather couldn’t have come from him, right?  He was Fallen, there was no way something as beautiful as that could have come from him.

“Jophiel will have my head for this.”

“SING TO ME” // Uriel/Vlad
{Vera}

“Sing to me,” Uriel murmured, wrapping her arms around Vlad’s neck and resting her head against his chest.  “I want to hear your voice.”

Vlad tilted his head to peer down at her and quirked his lips.  “What do you want me to sing?”

“Anything.  A hymn, an old lullaby, or just anything you can think of.”  She snuggled closer against him, smiling at him with a little sparkle in her eye.

Vlad gazed at her thoughtfully for a moment before wrapping his arms around her a bit more securely.  He began to hum softly, resting his chin on her head and closing his eyes.  After a moment he started to sing.

“You are my sunshine, my only sunshine, you make me happy when skies are gray.  You’ll never know, dear, how much I love you.  Please don’t take my sunshine away.”

The last few words of the song hung in the air for a few moments before fading away.  A strange silence overtook them, and Uriel hugged her arms a little tighter around his neck.  “Nothing is going to take me away from you, my love.  I promise.”

PRAYER // Vlad
{Vera}

He closes himself off in the lowest level of the mansion in a back room, keeping it dark while lighting some candles.  Here he has absolute quiet and solitude and no other sounds around the house can reach his hearing.  With a sigh, he kneels down and closes his eyes, pulling a string of beads from his pocket and wrapping them around his hand.

He recites some chants he had been taught from his childhood in the language of his own people – now a long dead tongue – just finding comfort in the familiarity.  He runs his fingers gently across the beads as he speaks, feeling a calm settling over him.

Once he’s finished the recitations, he hesitates, unsure of what to say next.  A feeling of doubt spreads through him and he swallows hard before whispering, “Am I really worthy enough to ask anything of You?  After all I have done, after what I’ve become… why should I not be cast into eternal damnation?”

Silence proceeded him.  A cold shiver went up his back and he pressed his hands to his face, breathing a little shallowly.  “I don’t deserve any of this.  I don’t deserve all of the second chances I’ve been given.  I don’t deserve her…”

Tears pricked at his eyes and he bent forward, prostrating himself on the floor.  “Why are You giving me this chance?  I don’t deserve it at all.”

Leave a Reply

