Drabble Dump #1 – Father, Raphael, Lucifer

Since today is drabble Monday, and yesterday was Father’s Day, I figured I would write some drabbles in honor of that.  Some of these are older as well, so they aren’t exactly connected, but enjoy them anyway! ~Megstiel

Father

“Father, I’m broken. It hurts.”

I know, my beloved child. Your heart can’t take it anymore.

Take off the mask when you speak to me. Lay down your burdens at my feet, and I will give your weary-laden soul rest.

Be not afraid, child, for I am with you always.

Father & Raphael

Even when mildly agitated, Raphael’s aura exudes shining tranquility, vibrantly electric blue. “You called,” he says. His voice is timbered deep and quiet, eyes narrow and pinched, angular in his face.

“Michael is out of control,” I reply.

Raphael drapes his arm over the low back of his cushioned chair, the motion smooth and languid. “I am at the end of my forbearance. He refuses to listen.”

I feel quite certain he has yet to notice that his inattention to his physical self has resulted in a shadowy bristle of whiskers around his chin and mouth. His skin looks paler, white with stress rather than golden with grace. “Michael will come around. He’s not the one you need to worry about.” I take a breath, and he sits up, peering at me with intense focus. I choose my words carefully. “You know I cannot tell you anything… specific.”

“Of course,” Raphael says immediately. His elbows come to a rest on his knees.

I let my eyes trail over the mess of dusty volumes scattered around the room. “Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains may not, in fact, be the truth.”

He meets my gaze, eyes narrowed, and nods once. I know he understands.

Lucifer

He knows he’s obsessing, but he can’t stop. The scent of ozone after rain, right before a lightning strike, of harsh steel and soft, downy feathers with razor sharpness. It’s intoxicating, on the brink of insanity. And he’s so close, yet so far away.

He knows Michael is looking for him. He can’t reveal himself; not yet. A hard choice. But the dramatic reveal, unveiled right as Michael reaches the last scraps of his resolve, will be worth the agonizing suspense.

“I’m home,” he will say. “I’ve been waiting for you.”

“I’ve missed you,” he hopes Michael will say, but maybe that’s reaching too far.

And with a cruel twist of lips, Lucifer will smile.

Father

Non-interference means careful words, silent watching, even while your heart breaks, even when people die. And a lot of people died. I saw it coming, I knew everything that would happen–I have always known, seeing the entire universe at once and yet as it happens, but choosing not to stop the inevitable because everyone deserves free will. Everyone has free will.

I’ve kept to my principles and standards. I’m used to being disappointed. But this time, they have gone too far, and I am the only one who can fix it.

Leave a Reply

